The Vocokesh – …All This And Hieronymus Bosch (2007)

The Vocokesh exists for nearly twenty years now initiated by guitarist Richard Franecki who left the band F/i to constitute his own one. John Helwig joined later and they are building up the band’s core until today also making out the main trademark – the masterful psychedelic/spacey guitar work offered with a well used feedback, echo and delay technique. They are just playing what they want to play – not really peering hard at a commercial success. Every album differs but the main approach is to appear with an avantgarde point of view I assume. Three song titles are referring to someone who is named ‘Eddie’ by the way. But only the band knows the background (if existing anyway …) They don’t abandon their tradition to act instrumental – and experimental, sometimes even sounding slightly dissonant to my ears. The noticable difference to the former albums is the fact that ‘… All This And Hieronymus Bosch’ lacks of longer jams which are crossing the ten minute mark. And electronics are taking a back seat. The songs are rather compact this time and some are provided with an acid/garage rock attitude a little bit. For example Once More Near The Beginning shows a straight rocking behaviour – but this is additionally decorated with an excellent spacey echoing guitar – great song and my highlight! The Truth Regarding Sunspots is so weird on the other hand. The instruments are played like they are acting on their own only, collateral but not in chime – this keeps at least for the first impressions – crazy! Even the bass is soloing a lot here and this is backed by some synthy patterns. -kept reading in… progarchives.

Track List:
01 – Eddie Makes The Scene (5:37)
02 – Gazing At The Dust (4:28)
03 – Once More Near The Beginning (5:53)
04 – The Truth Regarding Sunspots (4:51)
05 – Blue Light Dharma Shuffle (4:44)
06 – John’s Fuzz Theme (3:19)
07 – Eddie’s Freakout (8:21)
08 – Standing In The Ruins (6:22)
09 – Vibe #8 (5:59)
10 – All This And Hieronymus Bosch (9:04)
11 – Eddie Makes An Exit (5:44)

– Richard Franecki (guitar, bass, sitar, harmonica)
– John Helwig (lead guitar)
– Rusty (drums, percussion)
– Doug Pearson (synthesizer)
– Hal McGee (electronics)


The Vocokesh – Through The Smoke (2005)(320 kb/s)

With Through the Smoke, Vocokesh expand upon the ominous acid soundtracks that saturated The Tenth Corner. Combining the swirling guitars of Pink Floyd and the Kraut-inspired mayhem of Ash Ra Tempel with the early analog electronic surrealism of Tangerine Dream and Popol Vuh, Vocokesh continue to place pressure on the boundaries of sound, incessantly exploring cryptic soundscapes via their often times unsettling brand of electronics-drenched, drugged-out rock. On this outing, however, the soundscapes come mixed with some more Prog-like elements and even a touch of psych/garage riffing. “Vibe #6” stirs slowly with heady bass pulses, swooshing synths and subtle guitar lines, but quickly stumbles headlong into all-out mania as Franecki’s guitar pyrotechnics spiral forth like alien tendrils, reverberations of a gong tolling the first wave of what is to be a long, dark trip. But a sidestep into garage-psych of “Vocokesh Theme Song” provides a nice respite, as the band exhumes the spirit of Electric Prunes-like fuzz and vibrato. The sojourn is short lived, as Vocokesh continue on, taking the listener on their impressionistic journey woven from total sound exploration.

Vocokesh manage to skillfully hybridize the best of the early 70’s avant-garde into their cinematic improvisations. Florian Fricke, David Gilmour, Manuel Göttsching, Edgar Froese, Moebius & Roedelius and Fripp & Eno are all exhumed, but Vocokesh re-image the references into something far more extreme than the aforementioned ever imagined. Eerie and sonically provocative, Through the Smoke is one intense mind-moving hallucination. -taken from strange attractors.

Track List:
01 – Vibe #6 (6:29)
02 – Vocokesh Theme Song (6:14)
03 – 12 Monkeys (6:22)
04 – Through The Smoke (15:42)
05 – New Cropcircle Boogie (6:53)
06 – Nothing Implied (6:39)
07 – Sunday Afternoon (16:32)

– Richard Franecki (guitar, bass guitar, electronics)
– John Helwig (guitar)
– Doug Pearson (synthesizer)
– Rusty (drums, percussion)
– Hadley Kahn (drums on #5)
– Grandpa Mix (bass on #2)


Vocokesh – The Tenth Corner (2004)(320 kb/s)

If your third eye was at all trained on underground psych/experimental rock in the 90’s, chances are that Vocokesh streaked like a fiery comet across your strained retinas. Vocokesh is a heavens-scraping, amorphous mesh of vintage electronic burble-and-skree and free-form acid soaked rock. Conceived by guitarist/electrician Richard Franecki, the band was formed to continue exploring his particular vision of outer-limits rock after he left F/i, the legendary industrial/free-psych band from Milwaukee. Since their debut LP Ispepnaibara in 1991, Vocokesh have proven themselves to be prime torchbearers of experimental psychedelia for the modern age, as evidenced by a slew of head-tilting recordings on Drag City, RRRecords and Lexicon Devil. It’s been about five years since the last full length (Paradise Revisited, Drag City, 1998), but during that apparent silent period Franecki was ever diligent in his lair, slowly conspiring to unleash a new dose of audio microdot. The improvised psych/analog electronic trajectories have not dissipated one bit, in fact the whole music vessel has extended into even further and more elaborate reaches of the stratosphere as evidenced by The Tenth Corner, the eerie and utterly grandiose fourth album. -full review at… strange attractors.

Track List:
01 – The Tenth Corner (2:26)
02 – Love Theme From El Topo (15:03)
03 – Desert Song [Zabriskie Point] (5:11)
04 – Eddie’s Hallucination (9:09)
05 – The Holy Mountain (15:38)
06 – Special Glasses For Remote Viewing (4:49)
07 – Vibe #4 (12:58)

– Richard Franecki (Guitar, Bass, Buchla EMP, Arp Odyssey, Mirage Sampler, Digital Drums)
– John Helwig (Guitar, Bass)
– Jan Schober (Drums, Percussion)


  • Same Road

    this is the music we like to me and teddy! they are a band that travels from Poland really making music made ​​for tripping and daydreaming. visit their blog!
  • We are an improv/jam minimal noise band

    follow on facebook!
  • The Underground Youth

    Psychedelic band led by Craig Dyer. Influenced by The Velvet Underground, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, the ballads of Bob Dylan and the noise of The Jesus and Mary Chain.
  • CHATHAM RISE on Facebook

  • henry’s blog h-c-a-cdr