Slowdive – Pygmalion (2005)[remastered]

Pygmalion is the most abstract of Slowdive’s albums; after moving from the sugary pop of Just for a Day to the more mature and more experimental Souvlaki, the band began to incorporate even more elements of ambient electronica — drum loops, samples, and songs even less tangible than on previous releases. There seem to be two prevailing opinions of the album, among Slowdive fans: either (a) it’s disappointingly ‘out there’, since it doesn’t work with the conventional pop underlying the sounds of Souvlaki, or (b) it’s absolutely brilliant, taking their sound into the realms it was always destined to go. The second opinion seems a little more reasonable; tracks like Blue Skied and Clear and Crazy for You demonstrate that the songs are still in there, somewhere — they’re just buried under more abstract sounds than before. The album is not for those seeking a direct and solid song under the surface — but for anyone who appreciates the indirect and intangible, it’s a stylistic masterpiece. –taken from… allmusic.

Track List:
01 – Rutti (10:05)
02 – Crazy For You (6:01)
03 – Miranda (4:49)
04 – Trellisaze (6:22)
05 – Cello (1:42)
06 – J’s Heaven (6:47)
07 – Visions Of La (1:48)
08 – Blue Skied An’ Clear (6:54)
09 – All Of Us (4:07)

– Rachel Goswell (vocals, guitar)
– Nick Chaplin (bass)
– Neil Halstead (vocals, guitar)
– Ian McCutcheon (drums)
– and Christian Savill (guitar)



Slowdive – Souvlaki (2005)(Deluxe Edition)

Souvlaki is an album by the British dream pop/shoegazing band Slowdive. It was released on May 17, 1993 in the UK and on February 8, 1994 in the U.S. Widely regarded as their best album, it benefits from synthesizer contributions from co-producer Brian Eno on ‘Sing’ (which he co-wrote) and ‘Here She Comes’. The album’s U.S. release includes the previously unreleased cover of ‘Some Velvet Morning’ (written by Lee Hazlewood and Nancy Sinatra in 1967) and three tracks from the band’s 1993 5 EP, comprising the four U.S. release bonus tracks.
According to interviews with the band, the album was titled after an explicit skit on the first album by telephone pranksters The Jerky Boys, containing the line: ‘My wife loves that Greek shit. She’ll suck your cock like souvlaki’.

Track List:
[original release]
01 – Alison (3:52)
02 – Machine Gun (4:28)
03 – 40 Days (3:15)
04 – Sing
Effects [Treatments], Keyboards – Brian Eno
Written By – Slowdive/Brian Eno
Written-By – Brian Eno , Slowdive
05 – Here She Comes
Effects [Treatments], Keyboards – Brian Eno (2:21)
06 – Souvlaki Space Station (5:59)
07 – When the Sun Hits (4:47)
08 – Altogether (3:42)
09 – Melon Yellow (3:53)
10 – Dagger (3:34)

[remastered re-issue 2005]
01 – Some Velvet Morning (3:23)
02 – So Tired (4:03)
03 – Moussaka Chaos (6:24)
04 – In Mind (3:45)
05 – Good Day Sunshine (5:08)
06 – Missing You (4:15)
07 – Country Rain (3:34)
08 – In Mind (Bandulu Mix) (8:06)
09 – In Mind (Reload Mix) (10:26)

  • Same Road

    this is the music we like to me and teddy! they are a band that travels from Poland really making music made ​​for tripping and daydreaming. visit their blog!
  • We are an improv/jam minimal noise band

    follow on facebook!
  • The Underground Youth

    Psychedelic band led by Craig Dyer. Influenced by The Velvet Underground, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, the ballads of Bob Dylan and the noise of The Jesus and Mary Chain.
  • CHATHAM RISE on Facebook

  • henry’s blog h-c-a-cdr