Traveling Circle – Handmade House (2010)

Traveling Circle are an interesting new trio on the scene who offer modern psychedelic prog music, mixed up with some popular sentiments and worked out in a rather sophisticated way. So we have ten entertaining songs included here on ‘Handmade House’, mainly recorded with the standard instrumentation guitar, bass and drums. Only three songs additionally show piano, organ and cello contributions. Consequently you can’t expect a very lush sound – the emphasis is on elaborated and compelling compositions.
On Cylindrical they are acting very relaxed first and Dylan Maiden’s treble voice is immediately striking. The song evolves to something tricky later with surprising twists and turns and the typical fuzzy guitar style which accompanies you over the course of the complete album then. Some Things attracts my attention due to Josh Schultz’s interesting drum work where Bang Twig And Stone obviously refers to 60’s psychedelia provided with some Jimi Hendrix reminiscences.

-full review at… progarchives.

Track List:
01 – Cylindrical (6:27)
02 – Some Things (5:40)
03 – Bang Twig And Stone (4:31)
04 – Wooden Eyes (4:20)
05 – Cloak My Trove (3:43)
06 – Eve Falls (5:05)
07 – Streamlined (3:29)
08 – Forest Floor (3:48)
09 – Note Drops (5:03)
10 – Formations (2:44)

– Dylan Maiden (vocals, guitar
– Josh Schultz (drums, percussion
– Charlie Freeman (bass, backing vocals
– Matt Abeysekera (electric piano & organ on #4,5)
– Yoednir (cello on #1,5)


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

  • Same Road

    this is the music we like to me and teddy! they are a band that travels from Poland really making music made ​​for tripping and daydreaming. visit their blog!
  • We are an improv/jam minimal noise band

    follow on facebook!
  • The Underground Youth

    Psychedelic band led by Craig Dyer. Influenced by The Velvet Underground, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, the ballads of Bob Dylan and the noise of The Jesus and Mary Chain.
  • CHATHAM RISE on Facebook

  • henry’s blog h-c-a-cdr