Pharaoh Overlord – #4 [2006]

Pharaoh Overlord #4 is the fifth album by Finnish experimental rock band Pharaoh Overlord.

It represents a dramatic shift away from the instrumental stoner rock of their earlier albums in favour of the heavy metal direction also being explored by their sister group, Circle, at the time. The only member of the 2005 line-up of Circle who did not regularly feature on Pharaoh Overlord releases before this point, Mika Rättö, guests here making this a Circle album in all but name. Newcomer Jussi Kangas provides vocals and plays lead guitar.

This album also introduced a new band identity of Pharaoh Overlörd, influenced by the Amon Düül / Amon Düül II split. The metal-oriented Pharaoh Overlörd would release its next album in 2011, titled Out Of Darkness. Meanwhile, Pharaoh Overlord’s (without umlaut) next album was of abstract improvisation, Siluurikaudella.

Track List:
01 – Now We Know (4:22)
02 – Ridin’ (5:49)
03 – Secret Chamber (6:21)
04 – See Me Evil (6:18)
05 – Demons In The Rising Sun (6:07)
06 – Dark Side (8:32)

– Jussi Lehtisalo (bass, guitars, vocals)
– Tomi Leppänen (drums)
– Janne Westerlund (guitars)
– Jussi Kangas (guitars, vocals)
– Aki Peltonen, Mika Rättö, Ville Leinonen, Janne Tuomi.


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

  • Same Road

    this is the music we like to me and teddy! they are a band that travels from Poland really making music made ​​for tripping and daydreaming. visit their blog!
  • We are an improv/jam minimal noise band

    follow on facebook!
  • The Underground Youth

    Psychedelic band led by Craig Dyer. Influenced by The Velvet Underground, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, the ballads of Bob Dylan and the noise of The Jesus and Mary Chain.
  • CHATHAM RISE on Facebook

  • henry’s blog h-c-a-cdr