Oceansize – Frame (2007)(320 kb/s)

If it wasn’t already clear from their sophomore effort that rocked the progressive world, Oceansize have stolen the flag of progressive rock and are waving it high. While this effort may not be quite as extreme, mood wise in their compositions on this output it’s glaringly clear that they know what they’re doing, and are the best at it. While Everyone Into Position was a masterful work of art and an album that blissfully combined the more soft and the more heavy side of the modern progressive scene this album takes everything that they were doing before and cranks it to the next level.
Extreme moods, maybe not, but the overall consistency of the tone and darkness on the album is truly impressive. The easiest song to compare any of Oceansize’s modern work to is actually the easily most impressive opus from their former output ? imagine Ornament/The Last Wrongs, the incredible closer of Everyone Into Position, turned into a full length album and you pretty much get Frames. This one is a lot more subdued and subtle than anything that Oceansize has attempted before, which ironically turns it into a very ambitious project overall, one that has to capture the audience’s mood and hold their attention while trying to manage the build and climaxes from the best of the post rock world in a decidedly ‘Heavy Prog’ environment. Somehow it all works very well. -keep reading in… progarchives.

Track List:
01 – Commemorative T-Shirt (8:37)
02 – Unfamiliar (6:32)
03 – Trail of Fire (8:06)
04 – Savant (8:07)
05 – Only Twin (7:22)
06 – An Old Friend of the Christies (10:19)
07 – Sleeping Dogs and Dead Lions (6:42)
08 – The Frame (10:08)

– Mark Heron (drums, percussion)
– Gambler (guitar, keyboards)
– Steven Hodson (bass, keyboards, cymbals)
– Mike Vennart (vocals, guitar)
– Steve Durose (guitar, vocals)
– Paula Simpson (violin)
– Justin Lingard (viola)
– Semay Wu (cello)


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Same Road

    this is the music we like to me and teddy! they are a band that travels from Poland really making music made ​​for tripping and daydreaming. visit their blog!
  • We are an improv/jam minimal noise band

    follow on facebook!
  • The Underground Youth

    Psychedelic band led by Craig Dyer. Influenced by The Velvet Underground, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, the ballads of Bob Dylan and the noise of The Jesus and Mary Chain.
  • CHATHAM RISE on Facebook

  • henry’s blog h-c-a-cdr