Eternal Tapestry & GNOD/Singles Club : 1

Originally posted on Please visit We're done here.:

GUR-2It’s a given that springing from the cauldron of Mugstar that God Unknown Records is going to be a cut above. Assuredly more than a few. With that pedigree and an upcoming roster that includes Acid Mother’s Temple, White Hills, Mugstar, Oneida, Teeth of the Sea, Lorrelle and Obsolete, Cloudland Canyon, Disappears, Mind Mountain, White Manna and Bardo Pond, GUR is poised to actually deliver on their promise. Their first split does just that putting Eternal Tapestry and GNOD back to back. Eternal Tapestry’s contribution, ‘The Dream,’ is just what you’d expect from them. Loose, immediate and as intuitive as ever. Very brief introductory vocals soon surrender to the rest of the band as the guitars hover and quiver like cosmic saws into a layer of oscillation that bobs and weaves in and out of detail, repeatedly shifting to vibrating sheets. The drums and bass simultaneously do their own…

View original 317 more words

Kingdom of the Holy Sun – Pharmacokinetic

Seattle psych rockers Kingdom of the Holy Sun’s new album, Pharmacokinetics, is a 14-track beggars banquet of stoned, snaky jams that run from about three to six minutes: concise enough not to try your patience, long enough to work their beatific-sundown charms on you.

Kingdom of the Holy Sun play the High Dive Sat. Sept. 15 at 5 pm with burgeoning local shoegaze stars Jetman Jet Team.

Check out the video for Kingdom of the Holy Sun’s ‘Factory Girl’ after the jump.



–taken from.. lineout

TPR Featured Band: The Volta Sound

source.. TPR Featured Band: The Volta Sound.


Cleveland, Ohio’s The Volta Sound has a laid-back feel, reminiscent of happy, chill days and relaxed, good times. There’s a sunny-day, upbeat quality to the tunes, as if they were written when the sky was clear and blue and bright, and this morning’s mild hangover, shared amongst good friends, is a source of re-lived laughter and good cheer.

The Volta Sound embodies a combination of acoustic instrumentation in the style of  Beck and a motley of awesome synth sounds– spacey keyboards, synth percussion, and some sprinkling of psychedelic noise to complete their intelligently composed collage of sounds, which come across with strong, positive vibrations. There’s also a whimsical effect to both the tunes and the prescribed album art, as if The Volta Sound‘s work is, in part, crafted to give you the impression that life really isn’t all that serious, even when it is.
To-date, The Volta Sound has released three full-length records (Good Lookin’ Out Ya’llLike Entropy, and Aluminum Anemone) simultaneously, this past July via their local label, Totally Davenport. Despite the massive amount of material up-front, each record manages to stay fresh and entertaining– a noteworthy feat, as each separate work retains an overall related feel, both through the banana-peel-inspired images, as well as a distinct and familiar sound in the tunes, all the while maintaining a freshness and uniqueness.

Damon Moon and the Whispering Drifters ‘Motherless Child’

thank you dim it’s sooo beautiful!

Pyramidal – Dawn in Space (2011)

That Øresund Space Collective’s impact on ‘modern’ space rock scene (if there’s the space rock scene) is pretty significant certifies an Alicante’s (Spain) quartet, working under the name Pyramidal. Everything is in the mix: extensive improvisational solos, memorable hooks, spaciness, psychedelia and progressiveness.

–taken from… prog sphere.

Track List:
01 – Intronauts (1:32)
02 – Black Land (8:58)
03 – Kosmik Blizzard (6:44)
04 – Dawn in Space (8:27)
05 – Plastikleuten (Part I & II) (10:29)
06 – Tempel Iaru (11:15)
07 – Mars Lagoon (14:19)

– Miguel Rodes (Electric Bass Guitar)
– Miguel Angel Sanz (Electric Guitar & Synthetizer)
– Óscar Soler (Electric Guitar & Voices)
– Lluís Mas (Drums & Percussion)



LSD Pond (lsd march + bardo pond) – LSD Pond (2008)

two nights of improvised recordings from the lemur house in philadelphia tracked during off nights of the eastern us tour of lsd march, masami kawaguchi’s new rock syndicate and bardo pond. each disc represents one night’s worth of material edited by michael gibbons, without overdubs. personal from each night vary and thus present different types of material.

Track List:
Disc 1 (recorded oct 11, 2006)
01 – We Are LSD Pond (17:22)
02 – Hikari Naki Sekai (23:12)
03 – Tamerai To Kurushimi (5:20)
04 – Utuwa No Naka No Mizu (15:43)
05 – Dosyaburi No Naka De (10:47)

– shinsuke michishita (guitar, bass, drums)
– masmai kawaguchi (guitar, bass)
– ikuro takahashi (percussion, drums)
– michael gibbons (guitar)
– john gibbons (guitar)
– jason kourkounis (drums, percussion)
– shibata nao (percussion)
– kikuchi akira (bass)

Disc 2 (recorded oct 14, 2006)
01 – We Are LSD Pond (25:06)
02 – Sugantanaki Kyofu (27:00)
03 – Yoru Kara Yorue (19:44)

– shinsuke michishita (guitar, bass, drums)
– ikuro takahashi (percussion, drums)
– michael gibbons (guitar)
– john gibbons (guitar)
– jason kourkounis (drums, percussion)
– clint takeda (bass)
– isobel sollenberger (vocals flute)

Cave – Psychic Psummer (2009)

Chicago’s Cave have returned with their distinct blend of momentum rock and it is, fittingly, their most fully realized disc yet. Tighter, funkier, spacier and more driving than anything they’ve done, this is the group at their best, concocting neo-Krautrock grooves that perfectly soundtrack the continued and colorful descent deeper into the new millennium.
Mixing equal parts Can and Stereolab (who, of course, took more than a bit from Can themselves) with a grooving and cruise-worthy psychedelicism propagated by the likes of Funkadelic, Cave manage to sound at once immediately familiar and entirely original, a trait uncommon in today’s increasingly oversaturated music landscape. Where many bands seem to be loosening their belt of late however, Cave is continually tightening, forging their jams into focused demonstrations of their collective potential. -check out review at.. brainwashed.

Track List:
01 – Gamm (6:22)
02 – Made in Malaysia (3:37)
03 – Encino Men (8:04)
04 – High, I Am (4:35)
05 – Requiem for John Sex (6:36)
06 – Machines and Muscles (3:57)

  • Same Road

    this is the music we like to me and teddy! they are a band that travels from Poland really making music made ​​for tripping and daydreaming. visit their blog!
  • We are an improv/jam minimal noise band

    follow on facebook!
  • The Underground Youth

    Psychedelic band led by Craig Dyer. Influenced by The Velvet Underground, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, the ballads of Bob Dylan and the noise of The Jesus and Mary Chain.
  • Psychedelic band led by Craig Dyer. Influenced by The Velvet Underground, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, the ballads of Bob Dylan and the noise of The Jesus and Mary Chain.
  • CHATHAM RISE on Facebook

  • henry’s blog h-c-a-cdr


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.